Dum dum dum dduuuuuu, Week 4 of Game development reflections, le Music edition

Heeeyyoooo!! Well, well, back here yet again are we? Yep, that’s right, you guessed it! It’s time for the next post of GAME DEVELOPMENT!! So, we are now six weeks into the course and the Beta is coming to it’s end. I’m starting to sweat bullets, as we still got some things to work out and finish and the deadline is just coming closer and closer. Most of the things left is programming assets and the programmers are staying up day and night to finish it. So because there wasn’t many graphical assets left (at least not already taken ones) I chose to work mostly on the game’s music and sound. And that’s why this week’s chosen artifact is the creation of Colossus Core’s music. For the menu, the in game music and also for the battles.
So, music. Why?, you might ask yourself. Is this really important? Why yes it is!
Music is often used to set the mood to a movie or a game, and is a great tool to show what kind of genre it will be in. Like for example, using a lot of quick strokes on a string instrument will often induce the feeling of fear (horror genre) and/or give the player an indication of danger and there being little time left. So, as this game being set in a futuristic, cybersteampunkesque world, I wanted the music to reflect this in some kind of way. Like perhaps with a futuristic electronic feel to it, but with still some mystery to it, as the player controls a ship in a dark and foreign cave system.

Background picture made by my teammate Oscar<3
Background picture made by my teammate Oscar, edited by me<3

As soon as I had decide on how I wanted it to sound like, I opened up the music program on my computer called Fruity Loops. I chose to work in this programs, as I had used it a bit before a long time ago when I was in upper secondary school. Not being a musical genius, I looked up a lot of tutorials on the internet, to figure out just what I had to do to achieve my goals. After I had watched some tutorials, I started with picking out the instruments I wanted. I decided to go with very electronic sounding instruments, like a deep bass, funky synthesizers and random electronic sounds, basically just sounds that sounded like they could actually come from a real spaceship. I then set it to a pretty low BPM (short for beats per minute, unit to measure the tempo in music) of 60.
When I had all the instruments set, I just wrote in a couple of notes that sounded OK in the piano roll, and then just duplicated these beats over and over again. I did this for all the instruments and then added random effects to it. Mostly everything I did was just random in the end, I just clicked on things until it sounded at least bearable to listen to. This instrumental arrangement later became the game’s menu music. (Of course I also made it to be loopable, as this is important when in a game. As it saves space and so it doesn’t sound strange when it restarts.
All well and done, I then started on the idle and battle music. I copied the menu arrangement, and then slowed down the BPM to 40, so the music would fit atmospherically for the actual in game music. I removed some instruments as the music had to be pretty minimalistic and a lot more silent, so the ambient sounds of the cave could be heard. For the idle music I just removed some more instruments and changed the bass to be long notes instead of short fast ones.
So, here are the finished arrangements for the game so you could listen to them. I also made a bit more sped up version of the menu version. Still don’t know which of them I should go with. You tell me perhaps? πŸ˜‰ I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my ramblings, and that you also have a nice day!!

2 thoughts on “Dum dum dum dduuuuuu, Week 4 of Game development reflections, le Music edition

  1. Hey, Amanda!

    Digging the lax style of this weeks post. Super tubular, but anyway. I think it’s really cool that you straight up created some original music for your game, so props to you for that, I think it turned out great and it sounds really proffessional. I am sittin g and listening to the music right now and trying to imagine how it would fit in the different parts of your game. I’m gonna break it down.

    The menu music is really cool. I think it sets the scene well and makes the player exited. Not much else to say about that.

    The the idle music for when you are traversing te dark caves also really works as well I think. Very ominous and spacy. Good job making it nuanced so that it doesn’t grow monotonous.

    I worry a bit about your battle music. It doesn’t sound very different from your idle music and I don’t think it sounds like battle music. Sure it’s a little more intense but not like ‘fighting a hard boss’-intense. In that case I think your sped up menu music fits better. If not too jarring that would make the sound of the game as a whole more diverse and interesting I think. Also think about using the lack of sound to communicate.

    Good luck with the final game. The beta looked good!

    Svante

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback. And thanks for liking the music πŸ˜‰ I do agree with the battle one though, but it was a more of a group decision.
      Have a nice day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

